Tags

, , , , ,

There are so many things to do over the next few days to get ready for the onslaught of campers who will be joining us at the campground for the traditional “Halloween weekend” albeit a week early. There’s a lighted spiderweb to concoct, bats to string with fishing line, certificates to print, prizes to prepare, and pumpkins and supplies to be gathered for the big pumpkin painting contest. And I had errands to run in town before all that work began.

So I decided to start my day with a walk to the lake in the crisp cool fall air. The only sounds in the air were the leaves crunching and rustling under my feet as I walked, an owl in a faroff tree who was welcoming the morning as the skies lightened, the sound of squirrels chattering as they raced among the trees and the sound of the water coming in against the rocks on the banks of the lake. Every sound seemed amplified in the sharpness of the air. Glad I wore a jacket, I sat on the bank for awhile before turning around to head back to the camper and into town on the first leg of the day’s “to do” list.

The day continued with weather as beautiful as it began. The sun warmed the air enough to make me ditch the flannel shirt I wore over my tank top as I worked outside. Harley was actually behaving himself and not launching himself into a howling fit everytime I walked out of his sight. Several campers whom I hadn’t seen for several months stopped to say hello and chat for awhile.

Idyllic, right? Yes but for one small thing.

Or should I say small things numbering in the thousands!

Ladybugs! A literal infestation of ladybugs invaded the area, peppering the camper with their bodies, coming in the house before I could slam the door shut on them. In my hair, in my eyes, in my shirt, crawling in my coffee. And I would not be wrong if I said they numbered in the thousands.

Not the “normal” ladybug that we are all used to during lazy summer days. These are the kind that flee the soybean fields when harvest begins, having been introduced to the fields to help protect the crops only to find themselves needing a new place to land when the cutting begins… and FAST! So they flocked here today, working into every nook and cranny they could in an effort to come inside. Glancing at the door that has not been opened for the last two weeks, I saw nothing but ladybugs on the inside of the door prevented from coming in further only by the screen door. They came in on my clothes and they crawled through the crack in the door. They fell off the ceiling onto the table and they stunk when I crunched them. And if I should find one on my arm? They bit!

I began to feel a bit like I was living a remake of Alfred Hitchcock’s “The Birds” only with a different cast of characters. The little bugs that I always thought were so gently and cute seem to have turned into killers today!

Why do I get the feeling that before I step out of the door tomorrow that I’ll be peering anxiously outside to see what’s out there?

