Tags

, , , ,

Joanie always said that if I put up hummingbird feeders and was patient they would come. The woman should know…. she’s only got a bajillion feeders in her yard and has shared her fascination with them with all who know her.

One of the first things I did when we moved onto our host spot was put up a hummingbird feeder. Since there was a hummingbird nest in the tree across the road I figured surely there was a CHANCE of us being able to attract them. It took two weeks and before I knew it, we had tiny little hummers flitting across the outskirts of our pad.

Which quickly led to adding a second feeder in the small tree directly across the road from the nest. Before we knew it we had more hummingbirds flying between the two feeders than we could count. Now there’s a third feeder in the trees and it can be said that I too am now totally fascinated with them.

There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t spend time sitting close to the one feeder or standing under the other. camera in hand, waiting for just the right moment to take a perfect picture of them in flight. They no longer stay their distance when they see me. Instead they look at me and just move on in to sip on the nectar. I hear them coming before they even arrive, their approaching wings making a thrumming sound in the air as they come close. As I observe I’ve found that each one has it’s own personality. There are the polite ones and the ones that peck the others away so that they can hog the feeder to themselves. They seem to be able to peacefully coexist with the woodpeckers and orioles who dare to drink their nectar at the same time as they, but let a group of three hummers drink at the same time? Not a chance! They race between anyone who is sitting at the picnic table in front of the camper, acting as if they are stunt pilots and causing those who aren’t expecting them to draw back in surprise. And they often will fly straight up to Joker’s and my faces and hover in the air for a few seconds, looking at us as if to say “Hihowareya?” before they flit away.

They delight not only me, but everyone who comes to our camper…adults and children alike.

You were right Joanie! I put em up and they came and now I’m as hummingbird crazy as you are!

