Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This young pup of mine is a pistol!

100_0235

At 6 months old now I suppose he could actually be called a toddler… ever curious, questioning, able to entertain himself by throwing his toys around helterskelter as if there’s an imaginary playmate at the other end… until I go to the bathroom!

THEN THE WORLD STOPS BECAUSE IT’S QUITE OBVIOUS MOM CAN’T GO IN THERE BY HERSELF!

So in he comes to flop himself at my feet and observe the goings-on whatever they may be, looking up at me with his head cocked as if there’s something incredibly important to say that must be said NOW!

And reminding me of the days when my daughter was in the house.  Never mind whether she was 2 or 22, it never failed… “Can I come in?”  And in she would come to perch on the side of the tub or sit on the counter and chatter away about all manner of things.  We solved problems (probably even discussed world peace), cried, laughed, told jokes, sang silly songs, and talked and talked and talked.  Some of the most precious times were spent in those bathrooms!

I never really knew what a solitary Calgon Moment was until the day she moved out on her own.

I found out they weren’t all they were cracked up to be…a little lonely in fact.  Despite the fact that I wondered if I was ever going to enter a bathroom again on my own in my lifetime, there was something missing.

I don’t have to worry about that any more.  Harley is right there keeping watch over the soap that just MIGHT jump over the side of the tub to attack me.  I swear if he could talk he’d be saying “Can I come in?” as his little nose pushes through the door.

Some things never change!

