Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This is my second week back to work and I have literally hit the floor running every day, coming home with aching feet and a mind that is racing through all the things I still have to accomplish, organize and learn in my new position.  I’m bombarded with questions all day long from co-workers and guests alike… but the one I’ve heard most often from all is “Is it good to be back?” 

And I have to say YES!!! Despite the fact that it can get a little overwhelming at times, it is incredibly good to be back among the people who have come to mean so much to me.  And it feels good to be using my mind in different ways again even if sometimes it IS a jumble of numbers and procedures.

The second most-oft asked question  is “How do you manage to do all that you do without going crazy?”

It would be easy to just let the demands of the world take over, but the reminder of what I learned about myself and life in my six weeks off kicks in.  When I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed by it all, it would be easy to let myself wonder what the heck I’ve gotten myself into and lose hope of ever catching up.

And then I see this…

This picture of my baby girl (sorry A, for you will always be that to me!) sits on my desk at work as well as a copy in the living room.  And it speaks volumes to me!

For it’s a portrait of a young woman who has such an unbridled joy in life and our God… a confident attitude of “I can face anything life hands me” despite the fact that she’s making a life for herself miles from family…watch out world here I come!!! 

After God, she is my inspiration!

I can’t help but think that our lives parallel in so many ways despite the 26 year difference in ages.  We’re both on the brink of new life adventures, exploring life and love in ways I don’t think either of us imagined that life would lead us.  And we both will face it with confidence, knowing that our God has His hand on our shoulders all the way.

When I gave birth to this beautiful girl-child almost 27 years ago, I had no idea of the ways she would touch my life and my heart and continue to do so from across the miles.  I had no clue as to the things about life that she would teach ME as she goes on her journey.  Did I have any idea as to how God would use her to change my life in ways I can’t possibly put into words?  No!

Thank you Lord for this blessing that is my A!

I love you Lizard!

 

 

