Tags

, , , ,

When I had my surgery three and a half weeks ago, I was told to take it pretty easy for the first month.  No heavy lifting, no stairs for the first two weeks (which was a little difficult seeing as how I can’t get in or out of my house without going up and down the stairs), no driving for two weeks, and to rest as much as possible. 

I behaved for a little while!  For the first two weeks I rested more than what I thought could be humanly possible.  I didn’t lift anything heavy, my friends took me places I might need to go, they carried in my groceries, they took my laundry downstairs and brought it back up, they mowed my lawn … what I would’ve done without them I have no clue!  And it drove me slightly nutso as I’ve been so used to doing things for myself for so many years. I didn’t fight it but I sure didn’t like it. 

I told myself going into this that I wasn’t going to do any planting at all this year.  The front garden would have to be content with the things that were already there that would come up.  The back berm along the patio would just have to become somewhat overgrown with wild violets.  I might relent to a hanging basket to give some color. 

Who was I fooling???

So I’ve spent the last two days planting this…   …

and a flat of these…   …

and 3 of these…    …

and put these out on the porch…   …

 … and hung these…  ….

all by myself!

Ok ok, I take that back!  I DID have a little (?) help….

from him….  …

                                           and her…   …

and…. CYRUS!  Behave yourself!   

I just couldn’t resist seeing the front… 

  and the back transform themselves with splashes of color!  Well at least as soon as it all starts growing.

I’m worn out from the work but at the same time it was energizing.  I couldn’t resist!  What better way to spend 2 glorious days, basking in the sunshine, lost in my thoughts, and thanking my God for the earth He made, the beauty of it all, and the Glory of His most incredible grace and love. 

I don’t even need to take a nap! 

 

 

