Tags

, , ,

I hit the road yesterday morning and crept my way across the city so I could REALLY hit the open road.  And by crept, I mean slower than a snail’s pace.  What might normally take me a half hour tops took close to an hour and a half.  Needless to say, the city is NOT my favorite place to be which is why I live in a small town fairly close by.

And I love where I live!  I love the small town atmosphere, the trees, the woods, the people, the warmth, the relative peace.  I’ve been here for almost 7 years now and I haven’t regretted the move from Kansas for one minute despite the fact that I spent my first 44 years there.  I delighted in the fact that there were actually green things growing…. and trees…. and woods… and rolling hills and bluffs.  What a change after growing up and living in a place where it was usually flat and brown and windy… did I mention flat???

There is a beauty to Illinois that I love so very much.  But as I drove across the Kansas state line, through Kansas City and into the Flint Hills, prairie land on either side of me, I was struck by the sight of something I’d forgotten.

I’d forgotten how truly big the sky is!

