It's A Soup-Tacular!

BooMama, this is guaranteed to make BooPapa a believer in soup for dinner!  One of the questions most often directed at me (other than “Are you sure you’re not 29?” yeah RIGHT!) is “When are you going to bring us some of your soup?”  And more often than not?  It’s the guys that are asking for it.

Susan’s Potato Cheese Chowder

I start this soup on the stove and then transfer it to my slowcooker so I don’t have to keep stirring it so diligently all day to prevent sticking.

  • 1 stick margarine

  • 1 lg onion, chopped

  • 6 lg carrots, grated

  • 2 cans chicken broth

  • 5 cans cream of potato soup

  • 4-5 lg potatos, cooked and chopped

  • About 3/4 of a 2# stick of Velveeta cheese, cubed

  • Parsley Flakes

  • Tabasco sauce to taste (I like a LOT!)

  • 1-16 oz container sour cream

In a large saucepot, melt margarine and saute onion and carrots until tender.  Add chicken broth, cover and simmer for 30 minutes.  Over low heat, add cream of potato soup and stir till well blended.  Add Velveeta and stir until melted.  It’s at this point that I transfer it all to my crockpot.  Add parsley flakes and Tabasco sauce per your tastes.  Stir in sour cream and add your cooked potatos.  Heat through – will last well in the crockpot all day with occassional stirring.  Serve topped with crumbled bacon.

I like a thicker soup, thusly the extra potatos to give it body.  And since I’m noted for not being able to leave a recipe alone, I’ll sometimes throw in a can of corn or other veggies I might have begging to be added.

It’s not just BooPapa that’ll love this!

