Ten years ago at the age of 41, my eyes were opened to the mysteries of aging…. by an episode of Oprah which featured Cybill Shepherd talking about women, menopause, and the little things that have to do with aging that we don’t think of.

NOW I understand why it is my mom spent all that time in her chair with a pair of tweezers and a magnifying mirror.  WHISKERS!  But of course she didn’t tell me that I too would battle the marvel of bristly chin hair as I grew older.

Oh nooooooooooooooo!  Cybill had to tell me!

And she never told me that hotflashes could cause you to go ballistic at the drop of a hat whether or not you are the most mild mannered woman in the world or not.

Noooooooooooooo… Cybill had to tell me that!

Nor did she tell me that those “arm flappers” are inevitable no matter how hard you try to avoid them.

Noooooooooo… Cybill had to tell me that one too!

What she DID tell me???  “You’ll get it back someday”… most usually when A was being a pain in the rump.

And what she showed me and still does to this day?  Love, pure and simple.

Oh yeah….. and with a sense of humor! 

My treasured birthday present from her this year was a coffee mug with the words “Mirror Mirror On The Wall.  I Am My Mother After All.”

Guess she DID tell me something after all!

